Washington Small Estate Affidavit

A Washington Small Estate Affidavit offers itself as a quick process for retrieving the property of a blood relative that recently passed away (who is also known as the “decedent”). The form is used to receive the decedent’s personal property from any party who is either a) holding the personal property, or b) indebted to them. The estate as a whole cannot be valued in excess of $100,000 in order to use the method of estate resolution. Further, state law requires that the affidavit may only be executed after the decedent has passed for a minimum of at least forty (40) days.

For further information, a step-by-step procedure of claiming with the form, who is qualified for completing the form, answers to common questions, and a host of other information relating to collecting estates in Washington, check out the Do-It-Yourself Affidavit Procedure for Small Estates.

Laws & Required Conditions

Laws: RCW 11.62.010

Maximum Estate Value: $100,000

Required Conditions: 

Forty (40) days after the Decedent’s death, an Affidavit containing the mandatory statements found in RCW 11.62.010(2) may be presented to any relevant parties. It is necessary for a copy of the affidavit, of which must include the Decedent’s social security number, to be mailed to the state of Washington, Department of Social and Health Services, Office of Financial Recovery.