Illinois Quit Claim Deed Form

The Illinois Quit Claim Deed is the state-official form for both transferring interest in real property and making corrections to an existing deed. Being the deed-type that does not offer warranties, the contract should only be used among individuals who trust each other (family and friends, for example).

The document can also provide the parties with tax benefits and savings that would not be possible using other types of deed. The legal term for the individual that completes the form is the “grantor,” and the person(s) receiving the property is known as the “grantee(s)”.


Download: Adobe PDF

Laws: Illinois Compiled Statutes, “Conveyances Act” 765 ILCS 5



Requirements

Mandatory Information (765 ILCS 5/10): The following information must be included in the deed:

  • The Grantor’s name and place of residence,
  • The consideration (payment) in question,
  • The Grantee’s name and place of residence,
  • Description of the real estate and county it is situated,
  • The date of execution, and
  • The Grantor’s signature.

Blank Space for the Recorder (765 ILCS 5/10): The document needs to feature a blank space of three and a half inches (3.5″) by three and a half inches (3.5″) at the top of the form for use by the Recorder.

Book and Page Number (55 ILCS 5/3-5020.5(3)): States that the book and page number of any relevant instruments concerning the deed should be provided where applicable.

Deed Preparer’s Information (55 ILCS 5/3-5022): Requires the party who prepares the deed to provide a statement that includes their name, address, and an assertion that the Deed will not be applicable in specific circumstances. An example statement is provided in the provision for reference.

Grantee’s Name and Address (55 ILCS 5/3-5020): The Grantee’s name and address must be stated on the form for tax billing purposes.

Signing Requirements (765 ILCS 5/1 and 765 ILCS 5/20): The form must be 1) signed by the Grantor, and 2) notarized by an authorized Notary Public. The names of the parties must appear below their respective signatures. The names may either be typed or printed.

Mandatory additional form: For the deed to be processed successfully, Form PTAX-203: Real Estate Transfer Declaration must also be completed and filed.


How to File

Once the form has been completed, signed, and notarized, The deed must be recorded in the county in which the property is located. The recording should take place at the County Recorder’s Office. In order for the document to be filed, any filing fees and the mandatory additional form noted below will also need to be respectively paid and filed.

Filing Fees (55 ILCS 5/3-5018): The County Recorder’s Office imposes filing fees, such as:

  • Twelve dollars ($12.00) for the first four (4) pages,
  • An additional one dollar ($1.00) for each additional page,
  • An additional one dollar ($1.00) for each additional document number.

Other fees that may be charged are stated in the provision. The minimum fee for the recording is set at twelve dollars ($12.00).