Alaska Small Estate Affidavit | Form P-110
The Alaska Small Estate Affidavit is an official legal document that is used by the rightful heir to an individual that has recently passed (formally known as the “decedent”) represents the case an individual puts forward to have the personal property and/or vehicle of a deceased individual (a party known as the decedent) transferred to them. A number of conditions must be met in order for this to occur, including the fact that the value of the estate must be under a certain threshold, which in Alaska is $100,000 for vehicles and $50,000 for personal property. In order to ensure the affidavit is accepted, it is crucial that the individual can prove that such requirements have been upheld.
Laws & Required Conditions
Laws: § 43-2-692
Maximum Estate Value: For vehicles: $100,000; For personal property: $50,000
Required Conditions: In order to utilize an Alaska Small Estate Affidavit, thirty (30) days must have passed since the date of the Decedent’s death. There must also be no pending or granted application or petition for the appointment of a personal representative. Finally, as the Alaska Court System notes, it is a requirement that the Decedent did not own real property of any amount of value.