New Mexico Rental Application | Form 6010
The New Mexico Rental Application is the official sample form provided by the NM Association of Realtors and is used to gather the necessary information on a person interested in renting an apartment, home, or room in order to make an informed decision whether they should be permitted to lease. In New Mexico, property managers and owners are permitted to conduct criminal, credit, and rental background checks so long as they are conducted in a non-discriminatory manner. Because reports typically cost a fee to order, it is not unreasonable to request applicants to pay an application fee. This amount should not exceed the cost of running the checks ($25-$50 is standard), although there is no set amount as mandated by NM law.
Maximum Application Fee: No restrictions per NM law.
Security Deposits (§ 47-8-18): For leases under one (1) year in length, landlords cannot request security deposits greater than one (1) months’ rent. For leases one (1) year and longer, there are no limits as to what can be requested for security deposits. Once a lease ends, landlords have thirty (30) days to return the full value of the security deposit (or the remainder after deductions) to the tenant(s) to the address specified by the tenant. If no address was given, the landlord should send the deposit to their last known mailing address.
- New Mexico Standard Lease Agreement
- New Mexico Month-to-Month Lease Agreement
- New Mexico Lease to Own Agreement
- New Mexico Sublease Agreement